No-(sham)poo!

And now for something that is not fitness related, yet still buzzing around the health community.

Some of you may have heard of the No-Poo practice that is becoming increasingly popular in the health/vegan/hippie circles, and wondered, “What the hell?”

No-poo (the delightfully shortened no-shampoo movement) elucidates that the chemicals in shampoo are actually unhealthy for your hair, and cause it to dry out, frizz, break, and look terrible. The chemicals in shampoo are also hazardous to your health.

Which chemicals?

No-poo suggests, that if you stop using shampoo and substitute simple natural ingredients, your hair will be healthier, stronger, shinier, more manageable… and you will save a ton of money.

So what are these simple, natural ingredients? Baking soda, apple cider vinegar, and lemon juice.

How? Every 3-4 days when you shower, take 1 tbps baking soda (or lemon juice) diluted in 1 cup of water, and rinse through your hair. Scrub with your fingers as you would lather your shampoo. Rinse. Take 1 tbsp apple cider vinegar in 1 cup water, and rinse through your hair like you would a conditioner — rinse. Simple!

And if that still seems like too much work, then never fear: No-Poo Shampoo bars are available too, with all natural ingredients.

Now, when I first heard about this, I was intrigued. But I thought that it couldn’t possibly work for me: my hair is impossible! Thin, no volume, no body, snaps at the sight of an elastic band, and splits 5 times down a shaft. As bad as all that was, did I really want to take a risk that may involve 6 weeks of even worse hair while the ‘oils adjusted?’

I did my research anyways. And what I found, were tons of people of all different hair types, having incredible success with giving up shampoo. One woman with hair similar to mine, found that she actually had a natural wave, that her hair had been too stressed for. Well hot damn, I was on board!

I have not used store-bought shampoo since October 2009, and my hair has never been healthier (it has a way to go towards not splitting but thats a result of genetics.) Did I experience really greasy hair in this transition? No, not really. At first, the baking soda made my hair feel rough, but once it had been conditioned (I use a 99% organic conditioner called Live Clean rather than using the vinegar every day), you would never know. They say it takes 6 weeks for your hairs oils to recover and natural regulate themselves again, but I had no issue with overly greasy hair while in the first 6 weeks, so I suppose this depends on the person. As for me, my hair is shinier, stronger, and definitely more manageable.

So my verdict? No poo is a definite go, I’m sticking with it.

Note: For anyone who tries no-poo as a result of this blog: Please comment back and let us know how its going for you!

Comments
10 Responses to “No-(sham)poo!”
  1. I’m convinced! But I’m worried about my semi-permanently dyed hair. Did you come across anything in your research about using it with dyed hair?

    • embracefire says:

      Before I did this, I dyed my hair all the time. Literally, we’re talking every 3 months since about grade 8. It still worked beautifully 🙂

      And I should clarify, because I still do dye my hair, I just use henna now, as part of the same philosophy to remove as many unnatural chemicals from my life as possible.

      In short, it really doesn’t make a difference whether you dye your hair or not — however going no-poo isn’t going to repair the damage that dye causes, so its good to keep in mind what dye does to hair as well, right?

  2. Awesome, thanks for the reply. I’m more concerned about the color fading faster than with normal shampoo, but it seems unlikely it could be much worse.

    • embracefire says:

      Yeah I tried to get my edit up before you read it, but you beat me to it. So heres a repost:
      Sulfates (the damaging chemical in shampoos) are part of what strips color from hair. So if you go no-poo, your dye job should also last longer. Hurrah for benefits!

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog!

  3. Sel says:

    I’m really wanting to try this out! v.v I need a job to afford those no-poo bars.

  4. Mitchell says:

    I’ve just started doing this, but so far my hair feels lovely. It’s so shiney and managable, instead of the usualy fuzz-ball it is, and without product! Thank you love for giving me this wonderful advice, I look forward to see how much more my hair will improve. :3

    • embracefire says:

      You’re welcome! I hope that you continue to see excellent result. As you have curly hair, its meant more for you than for people like me, so it should definitely be worth your while.

  5. I’ve been doing the baking soda/vinegar for about a week now, and I love it! It hasn’t faded my semi-perm hair color much at all, and my hair feels great! Thank you for this post!

Leave a Reply

